Discover India - The Indian Currency

With the introduction of the Rupee symbol, our currency is now in a league amongst some of the powerful currencies of the world. Let us understand the Rupee in detail.

The Indian currency is called the Indian Rupee and the coins are called paise. Rupee is abbreviated as 'Rs'. A Rupee is divided into 100 parts, each of which called a Paisa. One Rupee is equal to hundred paise. The rupee is refered to as the rupee, roopayi, rupaye, rubai or rupya. The name is derived from the Sanskrit rupyakam, meaning silver. India was one of the earliest issuers of coins. The first "rupee" in the form of silver coins is believed to have been introduced by Sher Shah Suri (an Afghan leader who took over the Mughal Empire).


Coins in India

The Government of India has the sole right to mint coins. The designing and minting of coins in various denominations is also the responsibility of the Government of India. Coins of the Indian currency presently in circulation are 10 paisa, 20 paisa, 25 paisa, 50 paisa, 1 Rupee, 2 Rupee, 5 Rupee and 10 Rupee coins at Mumbai (Maharashtra), Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh), Kolkata (West Bengal), and Noida (Uttar Pradesh). 

Banknotes in India 

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has the sole authority to issue banknotes in India. Reserve Bank changes the design of banknotes from time to time. The Reserve Bank has introduced banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series since 1996 and has so far issued notes in the denominations of Rs.5, Rs.10, Rs.20, Rs.50, Rs.100, Rs.500 and Rs.1000 in this series. The printing of notes in the denominations of Rs.1, Rs. 2 and Rs.5 has been discontinued, as these denominations have been coinised. However, such banknotes issued earlier can still be found in circulation across India. Currency notes are printed at the Currency Note Press, Nashik (Maharashtra), Bank Note Press, Dewas (Madhya Pradesh), Bharatiya Note Mudra Nigam (P) Limited presses at Salboni (West Bengal) and Mysore (Karnataka) and at the Watermark Paper Manufacturing Mill,Hoshangabad (Madhya Pradesh). 

Some features of the currently circulating notes: 

The notes have some unique features, called the security features that help in avoiding the duplicity and illegal circulation of the notes.Some features of the currently circulating notes:  

Each Indian banknote has its amount written in 17 Indian languages (English and Hindi on the front, and 15 others on the back) illustrating the diversity of the country
•  The note bears the RBI seal and the signature of the Governor of Reserve Bank of India
They contain the Mahatma Gandhi watermark with a light and shade effect and multi-directional lines in the watermark window (a mark made in paper during manufacture and visible when the paper is held up to the light)
Security thread: all notes have a silver security band with inscriptions visible when held against light
The front side of all the notes has a portrait of Mahatma Gandhi

Notes /Theme depicted on the reverse side/ Identification mark 

Rs. 5 Tractor None 
Rs. 10 Rhinoceros, Elephant, Tiger None
Rs. 20  Indian coastal line with coconut grooves Vertical Rectangle
Rs. 50 Parliament building of India Square
Rs. 100 Himalayas Triangle
Rs. 500 Dandi March Circle
Rs. 1000 Economy of India Diamond

Go back